Kiziliburun: Shipwreck Panoramas 150 Feet Underwater

Excerpt from Drew Fulton’s post on PanotoolsNG list:
“I spent last summer working as a photographer on an archaeological excavation of a 1st Century BC, Roman shipwreck off the coast of Turkey.

Picture 5

My main focus was creating spherical panoramas of the site, 150′ underwater. It proved extremely challenging as the camera I was supposed to use (owned by the excavation) never worked during my entire stay. Eventually, I got my hands on a D200 with 10.5 fisheye in a Sea&Sea housing that worked for my last two weeks. I built a homemade pano head and did a couple hand held. Dealing with the low light and extreme light fall off as well as the high amount of setiment in the water column from the excavation was a bit of a nightmare. A absolute limit of 20 minutes on the bottom for each dive didn’t help either. I just posted a bit of information about the excavation as well as four of the panoramas on my blog. Be sure to check it out. I would make some major changes to the setup if I was going to do it again but since I was working at such a remote field site in Turkey, I just didn’t have many options and had to deal with what I had available”

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

